Digital Literacy

This is a self-test to know what is my current level of digital literacy. I will rate the following criteria on a scale of 1 to 5, where 1 is no experience and 5 is very experienced. To start off, I am never good with technology and constantly get amazed at how it works, I always surprise myself with something new I learnt from my friends or through the net.

The only criteria I rated 1 will be ‘Building online networks around an area of interest‘ and ‘Collaborating with others’. I seldom connect myself with others online which explains why I am not really updated with what’s happening on Facebook or what is the latest trend on the net now. It took me awhile to figure out how to create a wordpress blog, and I just learnt that I can download the app on my mobile (like how awesome is that?). Literally the technology dinosaur, I am still trying to get a hang of the daily Google hangouts. Therefore, I have totally no experience on building online networks, I simply find the net way too confusing at times.

Rated 2 for the following criteria:

  • Participating in online communities
  • Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

Joining the #MANG2049 is my very first step in participating in online communities. Apart from that, I wasn’t interested in joining any online communities. When it comes to creating online materials, I am pretty bad at it. Uploading photos will never be an issue but to create a video is a whole new level for me. I don’t even know how to use photoshop. Never try anything with audio or html, never got the chance to but I would love to learn how. It seems interesting though!

Rated 3 for the following criteria:

  • Managing your online identity
  • Managing your online privacy and security

Not the best but I am progressively learning the art of connecting digitally, which I personally thinks it is very crucial as the society is growing really fast. I don’t usually give out my personal information online unless necessary, and I think that is the reason why I give it a 3. My online identity is how I portray myself online so people would have that certain impression on me. Always being very careful about the content I mentioned on Facebook or Instagram, I choose what I want to publish for the public to read about me. I personally believe that everyone should not disclose everything as it is very dangerous, it is better to be safe than sorry.

‘Accessing, managing and evaluating online information’ will be a 4. Google is my best friend and I guess I have little bit of experience in accessing, managing and evaluating online information. Had an attachment 2 years back at The Ascott Limited, an international serviced residence owner-operator, doing online marketing and I had to managed information on the website. Gathering insights and promotions through competitors’ websites, the number of visitors on certain promotional websites (such as Agoda, Hoteltravel, Booking, etc.), and making the Ascott homepage much more user-friendly. Therefore, I have learnt quite a lot during my attachment in this particular category.

This is the end of my first self-test! Very interesting to know where I stand in terms of digital literacy, I know I am a technology dinosaur but I will improve myself to be better. Every day is an opportunity to learn something new and constantly be amazed.

xoxo,
Rochelle

One thought on “Digital Literacy

  1. Pingback: Final | rochelle

Leave a Reply

